It’s hard to realise that I am nearing the end of four and a half  years of research into healthy ageing. I have read and learned, and experienced, so much, it is hard to know what to put into my thesis and what needs to be left out. One of the people I interviewed, a Professor in Sociology, agreed to look at it for me, which has been a great help.

I was also advised to read another book on the subject, written 20 years ago, about the situation regarding ageing in England, which made me even more determined to write a less academic book about where we should be heading with ageing in Australia. It would be applicable  in other developed countries. We are retired for so long these days it is important that we plan wisely, particularly as it is a time when our brain cells die and we need to counteract this.

When I was in high school I was much younger than the other students in my class. I was still drawing stick figures when they had moved on. Their laughter left me with the impression that I was no good at art so next year, with my thesis out of the way, I hope to have another go at it, as it is something I enjoy. I want to learn book binding first, and write the book I just mentioned, and will become a grandmother, so I don’t know how many of my plans will still be on my list this time next year! It’s better to have a long list than no list at all!

I hope the world will try to achieve peace, and work together to protect our planet in 2010. It is much easier to achieve our personal plans when the world around us is calm and stable. We have enough problems with natural disasters and an uneven distribution of food without adding to the problems by fighting each other.

